BMW Group honours the next generation of international scientists: BMW Scientific Award 2001

Under the central theme "Innovations for a mobile future," over 100 graduates of institutes of higher education from more than 20 countries participated in BMW Group's international research prize competition, the BMW Scientific Award 2001. As patron of this year's Scientific Award, Prof. Dr.-Ing. Joachim Milberg, Chairman of the Board of Management of BMW AG, will award the prizes at the Technical University of Garching on 12 July in Munich. The prize winners and their professorial tutors receive the awards under the motto "Ideas that move." As in past years, former prize winners and guests invited from industry, science, politics and the arts, as well as representatives of the BMW Group will be on hand to participate in an exchange of ideas with the newly-awarded winners and celebrate their "Innovations for a mobile future" in fitting style. "The Scientific Award not only honours the outstanding commitment of up-and-coming scientists; it is also intended to increasingly encourage young people in particular to take a deep interest in the fascinating world of technology - because they are the scientists of tomorrow, the people we will depend upon to solve the challenges of the future," says Milberg. Since 1991, the BMW Scientific Award has been presented every two years in recognition of exceptional scientific achievements by university and college graduates from around the world. Its total prize money, worth 70,000 euro, places it among the most well-funded international research prizes. The doctoral, diploma and master's papers submitted from the USA, Australia, China, Russia and countries throughout Europe, among others, were evaluated by eminent jurors representing science and industry. This year's winners were chosen from among more than 100 contributions covering subject areas as diverse as natural sciences, the arts and architecture and design. The themes of the six prize-winning papers range from prognostic procedures for recognising traffic bottlenecks to simulation models for airflow turbulence through to sensor-controlled welding techniques. As an interdisciplinary research prize, the BMW Scientific Award has for ten years been a significant part of the ongoing dialog between the BMW Group and institutes of higher education - important partners in research and education. The prize-winning papers 2001: Dissertations 1. Prize: Bastien Caruelle - Institut National Polytechnique de

Toulouse 2. Prize: Isabelle Thomas - Université Catholique de Louvain 3. Prize: Henning Bork - TU Munich Diploma and master's theses 1. Prize: Roland Chrobok - University of Duisburg 2. Prize: Stephen Scott-Young - University of Melbourne 3. Prize: Jan-Dirk Reimers - RWTH Aachen Additional information is also available online from the article "Astute minds in the service of research" in the BMW ScienceClub ( 02DE 4A5?OpenDocument).

ots Original Text Service: BMW Group Internet:

For questions please contact:

Corporate Communications

Michael Blabst, Technologiekommunikation, Produktion und Forschung Telephone: +49 89 382-24697, Fax: +49 89 382-27563

Dr Tobias Nickel, Technologiekommunikation Telephone: +49 89 382-27072, Fax: +49 89 382-27563

Media Website: e-mail:



I want to receive press releases with the same keywords as this article:





Europe, EU, NATO



Important notice

Subscribers please note that material bearing the label "PROTEXT" is not part of CTK's news service and is not to be published under the "CTK" label. Protext is a commercial service providing distribution of press releases from clients, who are identified in the text of Protext reports and who bear full responsibility for their contents.